Yesterday, my class had that Magic Moment.


If you're a teacher, you know exactly what that moment is.  


It's the beginning of the day and the kids are coming in as you greet them.  Then suddenly, you have to step out of the room for some reason - to talk with a parent, because some catastrophe is going on down the hall, whatever - and as you are dealing with this you are sweating.  With each passing minute, your heart is pounding because you are wondering what is going on inside your classroom.  What are they getting themselves into at this moment?


And then you walk in.


They have started their routines.  They are doing exactly what they are supposed to be doing.  They are even doing exactly what you are supposed to be doing.  In fact, they don't seem to even notice you are gone.


And that's when you realize that the Magic Moment has happened in your class....and it is beautiful.


My class this year is the most energetic class I have ever had.  They are physically active.  At any given point, I can guarantee you that someone is: doing the "Worm" or contorting themselves into some yoga pose that would make even the most dedicated yogi jealous.  They are also chatty.  And curious.  And intense.  And young.  And rambunctious.  And silly.  


And yet...


When I walked in, they had finished their morning routine and had gathered in a community circle.  They had already chosen "Happy Wednesday" in ASL as their morning greeting, decided who was going to go first and even made room for me in the circle for when I walked in. 


After 5 seconds of confusion followed by 30 seconds of pride I felt...sheepish.  Why have I ever doubted this group?  Why was I surprised that they would have their Magic Moment so early in the year? Was it because I had bought into all the stereotypes about a class full of active boys?  Did I allow their flailing arms and farting jokes to blind me from seeing their creative independent spirits?  


I still need a lot of reflection time to process this but I know that I had a Magic Moment too.  And I will now see my class in a different more magical light...even if that light shines on someone doing the "Worm" or bouncing up and down. 



12/5/2013 10:48:04 pm

Oh, how I love that magic moment. I know it well. Love reading your reflections on teaching. I indirectly had the same magic moment this week. I left school sick and my class had some very important visitors. (We are participating in a pilot and some admin came in to check in and see how it was going.) My students were working quietly when the visitors entered. They stopped and talked about the pilot. They spoke eloquently! Then they returned to work immediately. Oh, my heart is bursting with pride. Thanks for sharing your magic moment! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.